The Avengers: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly

I have been remiss on my blogging duties. For great reason. I’ve gotten myself a regular job which means that I log in and log out on a regular basis and my time is accounted for. It’s been an adjustment as I’m used to working online and working when I feel like it:-) But I really do need the regular working hours since I’ve noticed that I tend to get lazy when working on my online projects.

Anyway, I finally saw Avengers. I was a little disappointed that I wasn’t able to watch it before the rest of humanity. I wasn’t able to go on an advanced screening of the movie since the preview screening fell on the same day that I was to leave for my vacation which I had planned months ago. I also had to watch it one week later than the movie’s first day opening since I was gone for a really long time.

Here’s my abbervieated review ( I have to sleep in a couple of minutes because I have to wake up early for work tomorrow morning)

The Good
I love Loki (Tom Hiddleston) in this movie. He makes for a great villain. His performance and his character’s lines were better in the movie Thor, but in Avengers, he is really given ample screen time. He stole the scenes in Thor, and now, he’s also stealing the scenes. He’s a really great actor and is keeping up with the tradition of British actors making the best movie villains. Could it be their accent?

If you remove all the other characters, I would have to say that the Avengers is an Iron Man movie. Robert Downey gets more screen time than the rest of the cast. He also gets the best lines. His character, Tony Stark, does much of the leg work and gets to save the day more than a couple of times.

What I love about the film is that it is an action film all the way through. In fact, the action is relentless. There’s so much to see and hear that one viewing isn’t enough.

The humor was really great. Almost all the characters got their funny lines. But as usual, Iron Man gets the best lines.

I really love seeing Captain America again. I loved his character Steve Rogers in the Captain America movie for having vulnerability, humanity and heroism. I look forward to a sequel of the Captain America film. It doesn’t hurt that Chris Evans is eye candy in this film.

Mark Ruffalo should get credit for creating a very amusing and humorous Dr. Banner. I can’t say I’m a fan of the Hulk.

Pepper Potts makes a cameo in this film. Stan Lee plays the “Where’s Waldo” game again. Try to spot him in this film.

The Bad

I would have really wanted to get more of Captain America. Chris Evan’s Capt’n has the best pecs and abs among the lot, but his character comes off as rather too uptight. Could it be his tight blue and striped tights?

 

I would also have loved to see more of Thor but all he does is fly around with his mighty hammer.

 

 

Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner) literally turns bad which isn’t really at all that bad. But he’s really such a badass in this movie and I mean it in a good way. I’m really seeing him now as more of an action hero. He has the potential of making it big in the action films. He certainly has the gravitas and the physique to pull it off.

Hulk turns bad in this film as well.In the movie, The Hulk ( the one with Edward Norton ), the green giant was really menacing. In this movie, he is more like a pared down version. The character gets to do slapstick comedy in The Avengers though which isn’t really a bad thing.

The Ugly

The plot is thin. If you think about it, Loki just wants to get revenge on Thor. To get his revenge, he made a deal with a bunch of aliens which has agreed to invade planet Earth for Loki in exchange for the powerful cube ( which was featured on Captain America ) called the Tesseract. The cube is basically a rubik’s cube-shaped battery of unlimited power.

It’s really unclear what Loki’s master plan was although the gist is this: he plans on causing dissent among the superheroes so he could divide and then conquer.

Things get smashed up with the help of the superheroes and a big green giant.

The action scenes are too fast that my brain was just trying to suck the information in. I believe I know what the ‘slow motion’ scenes are about. The director, Joss Whedon, should have used more ‘slow mo’ scenes to give the viewers a breather. The execution of the action scenes also needed some cleaning up.

I believe if J.J. Abrams directed this movie, it would have come out cleaner and more gripping. The scenes in Avengers are too haphazardly done. There is also no one scene that stands out which is important for a big movie like this one. The adage ‘less is more’ really applies to this film. This movie doesn’t need more action scenes but rather just a few action scenes that are properly executed. No scene stands out for me.

Overall, the movie was really fun. The Avengers movie is really a culmination of the efforts of Marvel. All their superhero films were really leading up to this movie. This movie really delivers on every level although it’s not a perfect film. Is it enjoyable? Yes, very. In fact, I’m planning on watching it again.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

