Movie Revisited: Bridget Jones Edge Of Reason

When I saw this movie a few years ago, I didn’t like this as much as the original. But a few years later ( almost a full decade later ) I’m actually starting to really appreciate this movie. The thing is, I expected it to be a romantic comedy. But if I take the movie for what it is– being more like a comedy than a romantic movie– I really start to appreciate it more. I just laughed out loud during the skiing scene. Renee Zellwegger has impeccable timing for doing physical comedy in this movie. We may not see much of Mr. Darcy oh but he makes up for his screen time by snogging Bridget a lot. And I mean, a LOT. I’m actually envious. Snogging is top of my to do and have list: Snog for hours with a special someone ( do ) Someone To Snog with ( have ). I really do mean it. I would love lots and lots of hours of  SNOGGING to make up for the years of non-SNOGGING.


Anyway, I digress. The thing is, this movie is really genuinely laugh-out-loud funny. Is it because I didn’t have a sense of humor nine years ago? I don’t like the fact that Mark Darcy disappears during the middle part of the film. But I found Hugh Grant’s portrayal of Daniel Cleaver quite delicious. In fact, I understand exactly why Bridget Jones falls for him. In this movie, Hugh Grant is charming, humorous, attractive and very tempting. He would have been perfect for Bridget Jones save for the fact that he’s a serial womanizer. Oh well. No one is perfect. But he comes awfully close.

I’m not saying that I’m switching sides. I’m still a Mark Darcy fan. But I guess, Bridget Jones is right. Mr. Darcy could lighten up. But I guess, that is why he’s so compatible with Bridget Jones. He’s such a great foil to Bridget’s boisterous character. He’s reticent, smart yet absolutely sweet and loyal. What did Bridget Jones do in her past life to deserve a man such as Mr. Darcy? She must have created good karma.


One thought on “Movie Revisited: Bridget Jones Edge Of Reason

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

