American Idol Critique: Top 13

Jessica Sanchez sang Whitney Houston’s song well but what many people don’t know is that from where I live, this is a common belt out song for young singing hopefuls.I wasn’t at all that impressed although she did sing it really well. I was impressed however by Heejun Han’s soulful voice. He does have a great tone unfortunately, his diction seems to affect his singing. I can’t understand the lyrics to all of the song he sings. He has a very good quality to his voice which is why the judges seem to love him.

Phillip Phillips may not be the best singer in the lot but he certainly has the passion and the musical talent.

I find myself rooting for the underdog more and more. Hollie, is the tiniest girl in the competition with the biggest voice. I like the fact that she was excluded from the Top 24 last year and now she has come back with a vengeance. She’s really the dark horse in this competition.


It was interesting to watch the rocker, Colton Dixon, turn the R&B ballad “Lately” into a slow rock ballad. It wasn’t a perfect performance but he did get better during the middle part up to the ending. It’s surprising that he can really hit those high notes perfectly. He’s one of my favorites since I love rock songs as well.

For some reason Erika Van Pelt reminds me of Meg Ryan. Anyway, I liked her performance tonight. She’s one of those rare singers that can go from low to high without much effort. I think what’s great about Erika is her tone. She has such a wonderful tone. I’ve done some singing myself, but getting the right tone in singing is hard to master.

 

I know that Jessica Sanchez is the front runner, but it really boils down to song choice. So far, I liked her rendition of the Prayer and the Whitney Houston song. If she picks better songs over the next few weeks, she could really win this competition. But this competition isn’t just about singing anymore. It’s about who entertains and touches the audience best .

I’d like to say that there are better singers this year compared to last year. Last year was more about the personality. This year, it’s about the singing.

5 thoughts on “American Idol Critique: Top 13

  1. Aw, this was a really nice post. In idea I would like to put in writing like this additionally – taking time and actual effort to make a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and by no means seem to get something done.

  2. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high quality articles or blog posts on this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this website. Reading this information So i’m happy to convey that I have a very good uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I most certainly will make certain to do not forget this website and give it a look on a constant basis.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

