The Wonderful Jane Eyre

I absolutely loved the movie adaptation of one of my favorite classic novels, Jane Eyre. It is just absolutely superb. Michael Fassbender makes his character, Edward Rochester, come to life. Mr. Rochester was rather bland in the novel, but in the movie, he comes to life and that’s solely because of Fassbender’s acting. He’s just one of those actors who is incapable of bad acting. He was the only reason why X-men First Class wasn’t such a flop. His presence enhances any film.

I also love Mia Wasikowska’s portrayal of Jane Eyre. She makes everything seem real and tangible. It’s as if Jane Eyre actually existed. Mia draws the audience right in. She allows you to feel what her character felt. I actually cried when her character, Jane, had to run away from Mr. Rochester. I could relate to her character’s heart break.

Judi Dench appears as a supporting character called Mrs. Fairfax. Ms. Dench is also another actress incapable of bad acting. Her role may be small but she’s ever the professional and commits to her small role. She doesn’t try to steal the scenes from the other major characters. She actually knows her own place and is content with playing just a supporting character.But I digress. This movie isn’t about the actors but about the characters. This movie is about the very definition of true love.

 

Jane Eyre is one of my most favorite classical novels. I am just so delighted that the filmmaker has so elegantly put the beloved fictional characters into the big screen. What’s so wonderful for a Jane Eyre fan such as myself is that the movie reminds me of why I love the novel in the first place. It’s really about undying love and about following one’s heart. It’s satisfying to know, that at least in the movies, love conquers all.

 

 

 

 


One thought on “The Wonderful Jane Eyre

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.